Friday, December 27, 2013

TV Show/Drama Review~The Heirs

Title: The Heirs/The Inheritors/He Who Wishes To Wear the Crown, Endure Its Weight and a thousand more names which you can read on Wikipedia and a couple of funny ones which you can read here.

Writer: Kim Eun Sook
Director: Kang Shin Hyo

Main Cast: Lee Min Ho as Kim Tan, Park Shin Hye as Cha Eun Sang, Kim Woo Bin as Choi Young Do, Krystal Jung as Lee Bo Na, Kim Ji Won as Rachel Yoo, Kang Min Hyuk as Yoon Chan Young, Choi Jin Hyuk as Kim Won, Kang Ha Neul as Lee Hyo Shin, Park Hyung Sik as Jo Myung Soo

Genre: Romance, Comedy, Melodrama, School
Original Run: October 9, 2013 - December 12, 2013
Running Time: 1 hr 10 mins
Original Channel: SBS
No. of Episodes: 20
Language: Korean
Synopsis: "The Heirs" depicts the friendships, rivalries and love lives of young, rich heirs led by Kim Tan (Lee Min Ho) and a girl named Cha Eun Sang (Park Shin Hye). The series follows a group of privileged, rich, elite high school students as they are groomed to take over their families' business empires. These wealthy students seem to have everything under control, except their love lives. Kim Tan is a handsome and wealthy Korean heir to a large conglomeration who is sent to study abroad in the U.S. In reality, it's a form of exile, as his elder half-brother back home, Kim Won (Choi Jin-hyuk) schemes to take over the family business. While in the States, Kim Tan bumps into Cha Eun Sang (Park Shin Hye), who has arrived from Korea in search of her older sister. Slowly, he feels himself falling for her, never realizing that she's the daughter of his family's housekeeper. When Kim Tan's fiancée, Rachel Yoo (Kim Ji Won), arrives to bring him back to Korea, his heart is torn between love and duty. Meanwhile, Rachel's future stepbrother and Kim Tan's former best friend, Choi Young Do (Kim Woo-bin) goes to the same school as Kim Tan and Eun Sang. The troubles arise as the heirs realize the differences between money and the real world.


Get Adobe Flash player

My Rating: 6/10

My Thoughts: Like almost everyone who watched this drama, I was very disappointed. In a sentence, it was a huge waste of talent.

The story was... weird honestly. More than once it felt like the writer didn't know what she wanted to do so she was just pushing along. The only interesting stuff that happened was in the last few episodes which was very sad because those story lines and plots could be taken side by side and given time but the writer decided to give all the focus to the boring main couple.

Which brings us to the main leads of the drama. I'll start with Kim Tan. I love Lee Min Ho. I really do. And it wasn't his fault at all. It was all Kim Tan's fault and the writer's fault. I didn't like Kim Tan AT ALL! He was selfish and spoiled and controlling and I just really didn't like him. I hated his hair and clothes too. 

Park Shin Hye surprised me. She has really improved in her acting. She still has no chemistry with her on-screen lovers but in other scenes she did really well. I also liked Eun Sang in, like, the first half of the drama, I think. I thought she had potential. That she would stand up for herself. But no. I rooted for her the few moments she did fight back. But throughout most of the drama she was getting pushed around by Kim Tan and Young Do and she let them!

Yound Do was a bully and no one should like or justify what he did to people. But OHMYGOD KIMWOOBIN!!! He's not only good looking but also an amazing actor! He played Young Do so well! He even managed to have some kind of chemistry with Park Shin Hye. This drama did made me a Kim Woo Bin fan. BUT the overnight change in Young Do was not believable at all. As much as I loved the new Young Do, no one changes overnight like this.

A huge problem this drama had was that there were way too many characters. And all the actors who played these characters were very good but they weren't given the attention they deserved. There were so many characters and so many story lines to deal with that most of them went neglected. For example, I still don't understand that sunbae's story. Neither do I get the teacher's story. I love Choi Jin Hyuk but his talent was wasted big time. And you get my point. The writer put too much on her plate and ours.

What bothers me the most though is the fact that they had so many chances to build up on the Kim Won-Kim Tan brother arc. And Choi Young Do-Kim Tan friendship arc. But they chose to forget about these things until the last episodes.

The ending was so rushed that it didn't feel like an ending. The drama went at moderate speed in the beginning, then slowed down, and then in the last few episodes it went by at lightening speed. This caused many arcs to be left at that. Many of the characters did not get the happy ending they deserved. And it all looked very sloppy.

Despite all the negatives, there were also things that I really loved in this drama. For example, everyone's favorite couple Chan Young and Bo Na. These two were so cute! I loved them! Another relationship that I really enjoyed was Kim Tan's mom's and Eun Sang's mom's odd sort of friendship. These two were really fun to watch. Plus they had far better chemistry than Kim Tan and Eun Sang even though Lee Min Ho tried so hard. Remember that forced kiss? It made my jaw drop 'cause I was like "Looks like LMH took my comment seriously." And I guess it did kind of work because Park Shin Hye did look a little more in love in the last few episodes. Before that it seemed like a joke every time Eun Sang declared her love for Tan.

I also really liked Rachel and I wanted them to do more with her. I loved her with Young Do! They looked really cute together.

I'll end my rant now with the statement that this drama fell near You're Beautiful for me. It was OK to watch, not super bad and you'll find that there are moments that are very enjoyable, but it wasn't one of the really good ones. If you want to go ahead and watch for the gorgeous cast then I won't stop you but if you are looking for a really good drama then I would warn you against watching this one.

Extra: Here are links to my Heirs episode posts. I only did them for half the episodes because I couldn't write them on time as I started watching the episodes long after they had aired.

Heirs Episode 1
Heirs Episode 2
Heirs Episode 3 &4 
Heirs Episode 5 & 6
Heirs Episode 7 & 8
Heirs Episode 9
Heirs Episode 10

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Book Review~Forsaken by Sophia Sharp (+Giveaway!)

Title: Forsaken
Author: Sophia Sharp
Series: The Forsaken Saga #1
Publisher: Self published
Pub Date: December 13th 2013
Format: ebook
Pages: 136
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Mystery, Romance

Synopsis: Nora Colburn was perfectly content in life. A junior in high school, she had good friends, a great family, and did well in school. Nothing particularly exciting ever happened where she lived, and everything was stable. 

But that all drastically changes when a new student arrives at Nora’s school. Wild rumors swirl about his past, and Nora becomes determined to find out the truth. 

As she gets to know the mysterious student, he shares with her an ancient secret... one that may yet put both of them in grave danger. 

And for the first time in her life, Nora is exposed to a completely unfamiliar world. She is swept away on an exhilarating journey that takes her to a place where romance and great destiny may yet await... and where supernatural powers run wild.

Rating: 7/10
Source: From the author as a gift for participating in the book blast. Thank you!
Cover Talk: Love the cover! It's stunning! And goes well with the story.

My Thoughts: This book was really good! Always love me a good supernatural romance :D

Story & Writing: The story was amazing! It reminded  me a bit of Twilight and Vampire Diaries but the Vassiz legend did give an individuality to it. It is hard to be original among so many vampire stories but this was a good attempt and I enjoyed reading it. It had action and suspense and a bit of romance and the writing was nice and easy to read.

There were some unrealistic things, for example when Nora was almost raped by her crush she was sad and angry that her imaginary picture of her crush was ruined instead of being sad and angry about the fact that she was almost raped. Moreover, she didn't report the attempted rape. I get that this book wasn't a serious one and this scene was just a small one, not that significant, but still she should have at least reported the attack.

Another thing that really surprised me was that after Nora ran away with Hunter (because of the threat they faced) she never thought about her family! She left her life, her friends, her family, everything, just like that. It never occurred to her that her family would be worried about her. More importantly, it never occurred to her that those Vassiz people might use her family as bait to get to her and, in the process, might hurt them.

Despite these things though, the story is still interesting. And these things can be easily overlooked. 

Characters: The characters in this book weren't that bad but they weren't one of those memorable, life-changing characters either, whom you feel a connection with. Nora was nice, yes, but she wasn't a Katniss or Hermoine. She was OK and I did like her but I didn't see any depth in her.

Hunter was the same. He was an OK character and even though he should have been interesting, he didn't arouse my curiosity. But I'm not sure if this was my fault, that it was only me who couldn't connect with the characters, or if the characters were like that. Maybe some other reader out there night be able to connect with the characters...

There weren't many side characters, and the ones who did appear, appeared only for a little while so nothing much can be said about them. Rafael seemed like an interesting character so I hope to see more of him in the next books.

Overall: Forsaken was a really good book. More driven by the story than the characters, but good nonetheless. And I'm very eager to know what happens next!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, December 21, 2013

Forsaken Book Blast!

Title: Forsaken
Author: Sophia Sharp
Series: Book One of The Forsaken Saga
Price: $0.99

Book Description:

Nora Colburn was perfectly content in life. A junior in high school, she had good friends, a great family, and did well in school.  Nothing particularly exciting ever happened where she lived, and everything was stable.

But that all drastically changes when a new student arrives at Nora’s school. Wild rumors swirl about his past, and Nora becomes determined to find out the truth.

As she gets to know the mysterious student, he shares with her an ancient secret... one that may yet put both of them in grave danger.

And for the first time in her life, Nora is exposed to a completely unfamiliar world. She is swept away on an exhilarating journey that takes her to a place where romance and great destiny may yet await... and where supernatural powers run wild. 


Book Excerpt:

Hunter cut off with a strangled sound, and in an instant, he was at the door. “They’re coming,” he hissed over his shoulder.

“What? Already? You said we’d have until nightfall!”

“I was wrong.” He shut the door quickly and rushed to the opposite wall. “You need to hide.” He pulled back a board to reveal a small cubby in the wall. “Quickly!”

Nora ran without arguing.

“Get in,” he told her, “and don’t make a sound.” Nora nodded. Her pulse raced, and a jolt of adrenaline kicked through her. A mixture of fear and dread came over her as she pushed herself into the wall. There wasn’t much space, and splinters and rough pieces of wood pierced her skin and got caught on her clothing. She wedged herself farther in.  Hunter replaced the board.

Light scattered in from cracks along the wall.  Nora pressed an eye to one of them. She could see the entire space between her and the entrance door. Hunter stood facing the door with his back to her. His feet were wide in a predatory stance.

Anxious minutes passed. Only Nora’s ragged breaths broke the silence, and they sounded as loud as hammers to her ears.

Slowly, the door started to move. Hunter tensed.

It creaked all the way open, and a tall figure stepped into the entrance. Nora’s breath caught. It was the same man from the dream, the same one she saw at the school.

“Where’s your friend?” the man asked Hunter crudely. He spoke with a harsh accent.

If it were possible, Hunter tensed even more. The man took a step forward. He wore the same long coat from before, the same dark hat. He and Hunter were approximately the same height. Leisurely, he started to take off his coat. Hunter still hadn’t moved.

The man dropped his coat in a pile at his side, and Nora saw that he was much thicker than Hunter. Bigger, more developed.


“Don’t try to hide her. I can smell her stench from here. I know she is with you.”

“You will not have her.” Hunter’s voice held a steely edge.

The man laughed. “Oh? Is that so?  And you think you’re going to stop me?” He laughed again. “You have broken the ancient creed by bringing her into our world. You will answer for your crime.  As will she.”

“You will not have her,” Hunter repeated, his voice filled with a deathly calm.

The man waved dismissively and took a step toward Hunter. “You cannot stop me,” he said. “And I don’t intend to take only her. You’ll be coming along, as well.”

“No,” Hunter growled.

“Oh, yes, I will take you both.” The man stood only a pace away from Hunter, now. “You cannot imagine what they will do to you. You will be bound in chains, locked away to never again see the dark of night or feel the cool rays of the moon. You will grow weak and feeble, forever barred from taking blood. You will never feed again.

“Your body will go first. Your muscles will wither to nothingness.  Your bones will crumble. You will become a shadow of what you once were. A shadow of what you could have been.
“But they will keep your mind sharp. Make no mistake, you will know you are suffering. An antidote will be administered, and it will stave off the madness that accompanies your deprivation. You will languish in misery, forever conscious of your mistake. That will be your sentence.  To suffer, until the end of time.”

The man took one last step, until he was nose-to-nose with Hunter. And he spoke just loudly enough for Nora to hear.  “But that pales in comparison to what they will do to her.”

Hunter snarled.

“Yes, her. Your precious human.” He spat the word. Then he raised his voice. “I know you are here, little one. Listen well to what I have to say.”

He returned his attention to Hunter. “She will suffer for your sin. A human mind and body is much weaker than that of our kind, and for that reason…she will be converted. And sentenced to suffer eternally alongside you.

“You know of the savage bloodlust that overtakes a new member of our race, do you not? Oh, but I think you do. You were once one of them, were you not? You were born a human.” Again, he spat the word. “A despicable thing. A despicable creature to risk so much for, wouldn’t you say?”

Hunter didn’t say a word, and the man continued. “I will give you one chance. One chance now, to repent. Give her up freely, and the punishment for your treason will be less severe. You will be bound for one century, before your freedom is returned.” He put a hand on Hunter’s shoulder. “You know you cannot win. Is she worth an eternity in hell?”

Nora caught a furtive movement at the door. The other hunter. “No!” she screamed. It was a trap.

On Nora’s cry, both newcomers looked in her direction. Hunter curled back from the man’s hand and smashed an elbow into his face. The thick man stumbled back.

Then he laughed cruelly and flung himself at Hunter.

Author Bio:

I've been writing stories for as long as I can remember. Actually, that's a bit of a lie. I've been writing since the third grade, when a wonderful teacher asked everyone in class to write a fairy tale, and ended up picking mine as his favorite. He didn't tell the other kids, of course - but confided it in my parents. He said I have a natural knack for writing (his exact words! and I remember them to this day), and should never stop. So, I've kept going..

I've mostly been keeping it to myself, though. I've never really thought about becoming an "author," or a "writer" (quotations because those goals are still so far away!), so never had the need to share with anyone or publicize my stories. But, I'm just finishing up my second year in college, and have really started to think about careers and life goals and such other mysterious things. And while my friends were all busy trying to get internships for the summer this year, I just kept to myself with my writing hobby. I don't have an interest in going out and working professionally in the "real world" -- I want to keep writing forever, and I want to have time to do it. The only way I see myself having that time, though, is by becoming a published author.

So there you have it. That's the abbreviated history of one Sophia Sharp. I've been working on a few young adult paranormal/fantasy novels for the past few months, and I'm putting them all up as soon as they're done! Why young adult? Because it's what I love to read. And why paranormal/fantasy? Because that genre gives the greatest opportunities for creating a magical, romantic, quixotic world that I can fall in love with.

My thoughts:

I got a chance to read this book and I loved it! Also, the cover is so pretty! So you should deinitely check this out! And don't forget to enter the giveaway below! It's open internationally!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, December 7, 2013

TV Show/Drama Review~Reply 1997

Title: Reply 1997/Answer Me 1997
Writer: Lee Woo-jung, Lee Sun-hye, Kim Ran-joo
Director: Shin Won-ho

Main Cast: Jang Eun Ji as Sung Shi Won, eo In Guk as Yoon Yoon Jae, Hoya as Kang Joon Hee, Shin So Yul as Mo Yoo Jung, Eun Ji Won as Do Hak Chan, Lee Shi Un as Bang Sung Jae, Sung Do Il as Sung Do Il, Lee Il Hwa as Lee Il Hwa, Song Jong Ho as Yoon Tae Woong

Genre: Romance, Comedy, Teen
Original Run: 24 July 2012 – 18 September 2012
Original Channel: tvN
No. of Episodes: 16
Language: Korean

Synopsis: "Reply 1997" will focus on the extreme fan culture that emerged in the 1990s when idol groups took center stage and K-pop was blossoming. Moving back and forth between the ’90s and today, the story centers on the life of Seong Si Won, who idolizes boyband H.O.T, and her 5 high school friends. 

My Rating: 5/5

My Thoughts: Aaaahhh!! I loved this drama sssoooo much!!!!!!

But, this drama is a very hard one to review without giving out any spoilers. That is why I'm going to do a GIF review!

Story: The story was basically your everyday life with a mix of emotions. And I loved every bit of it!

It made me laugh.

It made me cry.

It shocked me sometimes.

And at others it made me go

But most of all

I felt very nostalgic, watching this drama, even though I'm not Korean and I was too young in 1997 to remember anything from then. I guess that's the magic of this show :)

Romance/Relationships: The romance was so cute! And so mysterious! ;) I had an idea who the husband was going to be but even then I found myself doubting myself. The whole thing was very well played out, all the couples and everything. Loved the mystery of it! I would've died from the suspense if I had watched this ongoing! Well here are my emotions/thoughts on the romance and other relationships:

Shi Won ~ Yoon Jae

Me being such a bestfriend-romance fan, I was rooting for these two from the beginning! Their friendship was so sweet and they were adorable together!

Yoon Jae ~ Joon Hee

Their bromance was... ugh! I can't even describe how much I loved these two together! You'll know what I mean when you see the drama.

Yoo Jung ~ Hak Chan

Their relationship was cute and funny and I enjoyed watching these two.

Shi Won's mom & dad

Probably my favorite couple in the whole drama <3 I loved these two! They were so adorable and they loved each other so much!

Shi Won ~ Tae Woong

They were ok. I didn't hate them or anything. I just couldn't see them as a couple. They always seemed to me like brother and sister.

Yoon Jae ~ Tae Woong

Tae Woong was a very good brother. And same can be said for Yoon Jae. I liked their relationship and I really didn't want it ruined because of a girl.

Charaters: The characters in this drama were very real and relatable. And the actors who played them did an amazing job!

Shi Won

She was so cute and such a true fan girl! Jung Eun Ji's acting was amazing! And Shi Won was a very unique character. I mean, she was very different from your typical Kdrama female leads. Shi Won felt very real. How she didn't beat around the bush and was very straightforward. All this was very refreshing to see.

Yoon Jae

I first saw Seo In Guk in Love Rain and didn't really like him much. After Reply 1997, I saw him around a lot on blogs and tumblr but I still didn't get what the fuss was about. I mean, face it. The guy isn't that pretty. But after watching this drama I realise that all the praise Seo In Guk got, he deserved all of it! Not only was his acting amazing in this drama, he looked really cute! And Yoon Jae's character was a really good one too. He was a good boy. I'm so glad he wasn't another Jun Pyo or Baek Seung Jo. Don't get me wrong, I do love my Baek Seung Jo's! But watching a character who was closer to reality was nice too.

Joon Hee

Awww! He was so cute! And I can't believe this was Hoya's first shot at acting! He did such a good job! I seriously loved his character! My heart went out to the poor guy.

Tae Woong

He annoyed me. I don't know why, he just did. He was a good brother, a good friend, and in general, a good person. But he still annoyed me...

Sung Jae

He was funny and he had a good heart. But he did not look 18 years old. There's nothing more to say about him... I am glad though that he wasn't only used for laughs but was treated as a character.

All the other side characters were good too. And all of them were used very strategically. The whole drama, in fact, was very well thought out. And that is one of the reasons why it was so amazing.

Final Verdict: I loved this drama! It was very hard to say goodbye to it and I would definitely visit it again! And if you haven't watched it yet, you should go and watch it RIGHT NOW!

Friday, December 6, 2013

Book Review~Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

Title: Crash Into You
Author: Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing The Limits #3
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Pub Date: 26th November 2013
Format: ebook
Pages: 489
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis: The girl with straight A's, designer clothes and the perfect life-that's who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers...and she's just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can't get him out of her mind. 

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they'll go to save each other.

Rating: 9/10
Source: Netgalley
Cover Talk: Like all of Katie's books' covers, this one's amazing too! The models match the characters, love the car setting as that's what the book's about and the font is awesome! I really love the cover!

My Thoughts: Katie McGarry has done it again. She has created these flawed, relatable characters and has given them life through their amazing stories! This is why she made my 'Favorite Authors' list only after her first book. She made me fall in love with Echo & Noah, then Beth and Ryan, and now Rachel and Isaiah. 

Isaiah was my favorite out of Noah's friends and I was very excited to read his story. So naturally, when I got accepted on netgalley, I danced around the house telling everyone how happy I was!

After I was done celebrating, I transferred the book to my phone and started reading. And boy was I hooked! I read before going to sleep, I read on the bus, I read in between classes, I even sometimes read while walking (what a disaster that was!). But I just loved the book so much that I had to keep reading!

The story was amazing! I don't know much about cars and mostly all that stuff is very foreign to me. But the car talk in this book didn't bore me at all! If anything, it made cars fascinating! I'm still no car fanatic, but I do know much more about cars after reading this book. And all the credit goes to Ms McGarry for writing so fantastically that even someone girly like me, who has no interest in cars or sports whatsoever, found all this very interesting.

The suspense and thrill was very well played out and I found myself staring wide-eyed into my phone, reading ahead to know what happens. Yeah, Katie McGarry makes me do that. I remember doing that in her previous books too. And this was no exception. All the suspense with the Eric case was very engrossing and at times I forgot that I was reading a book. It felt like I was right there with Isaiah and Rachel trying to raise money to pay him back! 

The romance was so adorable yet hot! I found myself rooting for Rachel and Isaiah even before they met! I just knew they were perfect for each other! The were so cute together! Isaiah being all protective and Rachel being his angel <3  My fangirl heart was beating wild in every scene they had together!

The way the two of them helped each other become better, overcome their weaknesses. It was all very emotional and intense. 

I loved Rachel's character! I also felt very sorry for her. She had such a messed up, selfish family. Her parents were very self-centred and looking at her parents reminded me of how amazing my parents are and I'm so thankful for that. But the thing is, parents like she had, they exist in real life. I have friends who have parents like that and they are so depressed. Anyway, coming back to the character, I felt angry at her sometimes for the decisions she made. But then I remembered that she's Rachel. And her family, her parents and brothers, they have made her so weak that she can't do anything. It's not her fault. But her breakthrough was amazing and inspirational!

Isaiah! Oh my baby Isaiah! He was as amazing, hot, cute, adorable and all the good words you can use to describe a boy, as I thought he would be when we were introduced to him in Pushing The Limits. Isaiah wasn't perfect. He was broken and bruised and all tattooed up, pierced bad boy. But he was also sweet and gentle and really a baby at heart. The scenes with his mother, his thoughts in those scenes, those made me want to cradle him like a baby! His relationship with Noah was touching. His anger at Beth was understandable and what made him real. His friendship with Logan was sweet. And Isaiah may not be the guy your dad would approve of, but he really was a nice guy who had to go through a lot.

All the minor characters in the story were good but my favorite was Abby! She was a very unique and interesting character. Her friendship with Rachel was sweet and her relationship with Isaiah was touching. She was a tough girl with a soft side and I would really like for her to have her own separate book. She's really a character I would love to read about!

All in all, this book was amazing! Definitely one I would recommend! In fact, a friend of mine asked me to recommended a book to her and I recommended Crash Into You. She got it as soon as it came out (because she trusts my judgement very much) and she can't stop gushing about it! I have whole paragraph length texts to prove it! ;) So if you do read this book, or if you have already read it, remember to share your thoughts (or fangirl) in the comments!

Favorite Quotes:

“The first moment I saw him, the night people clamored over each other to step out of his way, I was frightened. The guy with earrings and tattoos and an energy radiating danger. Now-inside and out-all I see is beauty.” 

“Maybe this is what happens when you fall in love. On the outside a lighter is nothing amazing, but it holds all the ingredients that can create something wonderful. With a few pushes in the right direction, you can inspire something so brilliant that it pushes back the darkness.” 

About The Author:

KATIE MCGARRY was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, and reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Katie would love to hear from her readers. Contact her via her website,, follow her on Twitter @KatieMcGarry, or become a fan on Facebook and Goodreads.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

TV Show/Drama Review~Shut Up Flower Boy Band

Title: Shut Up Flower Boy Band
Writer: Seo Yoon Hee
Director: Lee Kwon
Producer: Oh Bo Yi
Main Cast: Sung Joon as Kwon Ji Hyuk, Jo Bo Ah as Im Soo Ah, Kim Myung Soo as Lee Hyun Soo, Jung Eui Chul as Yoo Seung Hoon
Genre: Teen/Youth, Romance, Music, Drama
Original Run: January 30, 2012 - March 20, 2012
Original Channel: tvN
No. of Episodes: 16
Language: Korean

Synopsis: Eye Candy is a six member underground rock band led by Byung Hee. When the group transfers into the prestigious Jungsang High School, they find their rival, Strawberry Fields. This is a story about the two rock bands and how they deal with friendship, relationships, and their passion for music.


Get Adobe Flash player

My Rating: 10/10

My Thoughts: *This review may contain minor spoilers. Read at your own risk.*

Aaaahhh!! I loved loved loved this drama sooo much!! :D

The story, the characters, everything was perfect! The story felt like it was out of an awesome YA book. Real, messed up, broken teenagers fighting for their dream in this cruel world. I loved everything this amazing story had to offer! It was a perfect blend of bromance, romance, rivalry, and reality.

The bromance was one of the best ones I've seen ever! Eye Candy <3 There's not much I can say about them so I'll let the pictures do the talking:

John Lennon said, ‘The Beatles are more famous than Jesus.’. We’re not famous or special, but we’re just doing what we want, right now. The world that surrounds us is gray and we can’t see our futures. But for now, we just shut up and run – to the time that’s waiting for us.
Their friendship was so amazing and inspiring and special!

The romance was cute. But I am glad that it wasn't the main focus of the drama. It was a side plot and the main theme was 'fighting for your dreams'. Or that's what I felt, anyway...

But Soo Ah, as a character, was very relatable, especially for me. She was a nice and a good girl but she was stuck in such hard conditions. I felt sorry for the poor girl. Her personality was very much like mine and I understood her insecurities and decisions. Plus, Bo Ah is so pretty!

Byung Hee was one of the best characters ever created! He seems weird at first but as the drama progresses you realize how amazing he is! Too bad he only stays for two episodes. Yes, two episodes. I cried so hard when he died! I've never cried so much for any k-drama character as much as I cried for Byung Hee. And even after he was was gone, even after I watched the rest of the drama without him, he still remains my favorite character.

I don't really like guys with long hair. But Do Il looked so amazing in them that I fell in love with him! He looked gorgeous and hot and just amazing! And his crush on Woo Kyung was adorable!

Oh my God, Kyung Jong was the adorablist thing ever! His accent was love and he was just so freaking cute!

Ha Jin was an okay character. I didn't really care much about him. But his friendship with Kyung Jong was really cute!

Don't kill me fangirls, but I didn't like Hyun Soo much. He was annoying because he was so angry all the time. Whereas his friends had a much harder life than him. Myung Soo's acting wasn't that good either. He was trying to be too sexy without really achieving anything because he's much more cute than he is hot.

Sung Joon was amazing in this drama! I've seen him in Lie To Me, before this, and he was okay in it, but he was mindblowingly amazing in this drama! His acting was really good and he played his character very well. All of Ji Kyuk's thoughts, insecurities, actions and feelings were very relatable.

I love love love Jung Eui Chul! And yes, my love for him is solely based on how good looking he is <3 Don't look at me like that, I'm not shallow! Admit it, this has happened to you too! Anyway, he was really cute in this drama too :D I didn't liove his character much but he did provide a good conflict. I did enjoy seeing the gorgeous Eui Chul on screen, though ;)

In this drama there was this one character who really annoyed me and I really wished she wasn't there. That pop star girl who has a crush on Hyun Soo. Her acting, her voice, they were both very annoying! And the character wasn't that good either :/

I don't really know how I feel about Yoo Hae Ri... At times I liked her but at others I hated her. Rock Kim was funny and he added lightness to a otherwise serious drama. Same for "Shilba". I really liked him. He really did care for the boys and, in a way, was a part of their family.

I loved the ending! It felt so real and believable! Yeah, it wasn't what you'd expect or even hope, but it was very real and that's what made it amazing!

If you analyze this drama piece by piece then it might not seem perfect. But as a whole, it truly is amazing! It is real and relatable and has memorable characters and an inspiring story. I felt so sorry for the boys! All they had to go through! They were living in such hard conditions but they were strong and very inspiring. I would highly recommend this drama!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...